Is it illegal to not have car insurance in Georgia?

Asked by: Dr. Gunnar Runolfsson  |  Last update: February 11, 2022
Score: 4.4/5 (23 votes)

Driving without insurance in Georgia is illegal and amounts to hefty consequences. When an accident takes place, and you don't have insurance, you may face jail time, substantial fines, suspension of vehicle registration and your driving license, lawsuits for property damage, and medical bills settlements.

Is it mandatory to have car insurance in Georgia?

Georgia requires all drivers to have Liability Insurance to drive. ... These drivers are considered “uninsured.” If an uninsured driver causes an accident that damages your vehicle or injures you or your passengers, Uninsured Motorist insurance would protect you.

What is the fine for no insurance in the state of Georgia?

The penalty for driving without insurance in Georgia is a fine of at least $200, loss of driving privileges, criminal conviction and potential jail time. Georgia is not lenient with drivers who get caught on the road without insurance, even first-time offenders.

What happens if you don't have insurance on car?

Penalties and Fines in California

Those found guilty of driving with no insurance in California can expect the following penalties to apply: First offense: A fine between $100 and $200. Second (and subsequent) offense: A fine between $200 and $500. Filing of an SR-22 certificate.

How much is a ticket for no proof of insurance in GA?

When a person has insurance but does not provide proof to a police officer, they will be charged with No Proof of Insurance. The maximum fine, in this situation, cannot exceed $25. When a person attends court, the prosecutor (solicitor) will ask the accused if they had valid insurance when they were ticketed.

Why I Drive Without Car Insurance! | My First Accident | Storytime With David

16 related questions found

Can you go to jail for no insurance in GA?

Driving without insurance in Georgia is illegal and amounts to hefty consequences. When an accident takes place, and you don't have insurance, you may face jail time, substantial fines, suspension of vehicle registration and your driving license, lawsuits for property damage, and medical bills settlements.

Can police tell if you have car insurance in GA?

If you think you can get away by showing an expired car insurance card or giving an expired car insurance policy number, you're wrong! The police will find out your insurance status, quote you, and then tow away your vehicle if you don't have a valid car insurance policy.

Is driving without insurance illegal?


You cannot drive or allow someone else to drive a vehicle or licensed trailer on a public road unless there is insurance with respect to third party risk, i.e. third party insurance that will cover damages to someone else or someone else's property.

Can I drive without insurance?

Yes, it is illegal to drive without an insurance policy as per the Motor Vehicle Act, 2019. The Government of India has made Third-Party Liability Insurance mandatory for all motor vehicles to drive legally on the road.

Is driving without insurance a criminal Offence?

Driving without insurance is a very serious offence, which can lead to financial penalties running to thousands of pounds, as well as a disqualification from driving or penalty points on your driving licence. ... Driving without insurance is deemed an absolute offence and means there is no excuse.

Does insurance follow the car or driver in Georgia?

In general, insurance coverage follows the vehicle and not the person in Georgia. This means that the owner's automobile insurance coverage would be the primary source of compensation if you were in a car accident in his vehicle, not your own automobile insurance policy.

What happens if someone hits you and they don't have insurance?

In California, accident victims have the right to file a personal injury lawsuit to recover damages from a negligent party. However, if the person who is responsible for your injuries did not carry insurance, they may not be able to cover the cost of your injuries.

How long do you have to get car insurance in Georgia?

The Georgia new-car insurance grace period is 2 to 30 days in most cases. The new-car grace period is how long insured drivers are allowed to drive a newly purchased vehicle before adding it to an existing car insurance policy.

Why is car insurance law?

It provides financial protection if you have an accident, and it can also cover injuries to other drivers, pedestrians and passengers in your car. Third party insurance is the bare minimum you need to drive legally on public roads. It has been compulsory since it was introduced with the Road Traffic Act 1930.

Is Georgia a no fault state?

Georgia is considered a fault state. This means that the person who is at fault for a crash must compensate the other person for any resulting injuries or property damage. ... If you were injured in a car crash, you will need to prove the other driver or another party was responsible for your injuries.

How much is car insurance a month in Georgia?

Car insurance in Georgia costs $91 per month, on average, or $1,095 per year. The average cost of car insurance in Georgia is 52% higher than the national average auto insurance premium, and Georgia ranks 44 out of 50 for the most affordable car insurance rates in the U.S.

Do I have to be insured or just the car?

Contrary to popular belief, car insurance typically follows the car — not the driver. If you let someone else drive your car and they get in an accident, your insurance company would likely be responsible for paying the claim, depending on the coverages in your policy.

Can I insure a car not in my name in Georgia?

Non-owner car insurance is a form of liability coverage that protects you if you get into an accident while driving someone else's car. In Georgia, non-owner insurance can pay for injuries and property damage that you cause others, but it won't pay for damage to the borrowed car or your medical expenses.

Do you have to have proof of insurance in Georgia?

No Proof of Insurance Charge in Georgia

In Georgia, all drivers are required to have at least the minimum auto insurance coverage on their vehicles. A failure to have appropriate coverage can result in the driver being charged with no proof of insurance.

What happens if the person at fault has no insurance in Georgia?

Contact Your Own Insurance Provider

You may need to make a claim through your own policy. You should be able to do this if you have standard collision coverage or uninsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist policies are intended to make up for any damages done by someone who does not have any auto insurance.

What happens if the person at fault in an accident has no insurance in Georgia?

Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Georgia

Uninsured motorist coverage provides coverage in cases where the at-fault driver did not have liability insurance. Underinsured motorist coverage provides coverage for cases in which the at-fault driver's insurance was not sufficient to cover the victim's damages.

How long can you be without car insurance?

So, how long can you be without car insurance? If you're driving, you can't. Anytime you get behind the wheel as a licensed driver, you need insurance coverage or you'll risk incurring major consequences.

Can you have out of state car insurance in Georgia?

If you permanently relocate to another state, such as Georgia, the vehicle you bring with you must be registered and insured in Georgia. Having a car registered in one state and insured in another may be against the law. It could also cause your insurer to deny a claim or cancel your policy.

What type of insurance is required by law?

California requires drivers to carry at least the following auto insurance coverages: Bodily injury liability coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum. Property damage liability coverage: $5,000 minimum. Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage¹: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum.

Can someone borrow my car?

Although you should check your individual policy, most of the time you can let someone drive your car and still have coverage. As long as you give the person permission, and they only drive the car occasionally, there shouldn't be an issue. ... Find out what happens when you let a friend or family member borrow your car.