What is the penalty for driving without insurance in the state of VA?Asked by: Leonora Gorczany | Last update: February 11, 2022
Score: 4.4/5 (32 votes)
How long can you go without car insurance before being penalized in VA?
The $500 fee does not provide coverage for your vehicle. It simply allows you to operate a motor vehicle uninsured for the next 12 months without additional penalties. The minimum requirements for auto insurance in Virginia are: $25,000 in bodily injury insurance per person.
Can you go to jail for not having car insurance in Virginia?
Virginia requires all drivers to either carry a minimum amount of car insurance or pay a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee. ... The state of Virginia may convict you of a Class 3 misdemeanor, charge you a $500 fine, and take your driver's license, vehicle registration and license plates.
How much is the uninsured motor vehicle fee in Virginia?
If the vehicle is uninsured, the motor vehicle owner is required to pay to DMV a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee in addition to normal registration fees. Payment of the $500 fee does not provide the motorist with any insurance coverage. If involved in an accident, the uninsured motorist remains personally liable.
How long can you be without car insurance?
So, how long can you be without car insurance? If you're driving, you can't. Anytime you get behind the wheel as a licensed driver, you need insurance coverage or you'll risk incurring major consequences.
Driving-Without-Insurance Penalties : Insurance Info
Can I drive car without insurance?
The law says that you must normally have at least third party motor insurance if you drive or own a vehicle. You must also have insurance if you leave it parked on the street, on your driveway or in your garage. The police can check on the spot if your vehicle is insured using the Motor Insurance Database.
Can I drive a new car without insurance?
Can I drive a new car without insurance? Even if only driving your new car back from the dealership, you need insurance for the trip. ... Bridging the gap with temporary car insurance means you'll be able to take your car off the lot and home before you take that step.
What does paying the $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee provide in VA?
Every person registering an uninsured motor vehicle shall pay a fee of $500 at the time of registration. Payment of this fee allows a motor vehicle owner to operate an uninsured motor vehicle; however, payment of this fee does not provide the motorist with any insurance coverage.
What is the minimum insurance required in Virginia?
It is illegal to drive a car in Virginia without at least the minimum amount of liability coverage required by law: Bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Property damage: $20,000 per accident. Uninsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
What does uninsured motorist cover in Virginia?
Key Facts About Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Virginia. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage helps pay for a car accident if the at-fault driver doesn't have enough insurance. Normally, the at-fault driver's liability insurance pays for any property damage or injuries they caused.
What happens if your car is not insured?
What happens if you don't have car insurance? Motorists who are pulled over by law enforcement and do not have auto insurance may receive fines, have their automobile impounded, and/or receive a license suspension. Jail time for this offense is rare except for multiple offenders.
How many points do you get for driving without insurance?
The penalty for this offence is between 6 – 8 penalty points in addition to a fine.
What happens if no car insurance?
Fines. If you get caught driving without car insurance, at the very least, you can expect a fine that can run anywhere from $100 to $1,500, depending on your state. License suspension. In some states, your license will be suspended and may not be reinstated until you get car insurance.
Do you need proof of insurance in Virginia?
To prove valid coverage, you must file the SR-22 Proof of Insurance and Financial Liability form during that period. If you cause or contribute to a motor vehicle collision while driving without insurance in Virginia, you are personally liable for any damages that result.
Is car insurance mandatory in Virginia?
Aren't Virginia drivers required to have insurance? Surprisingly, the answer is no. Drivers are not required to purchase auto insurance on a vehicle registered in Virginia. ... Code § 46.2-706, if you do not purchase auto insurance, you are required to pay an uninsured motorist fee of $500.00 per year.
What are insurance violations?
Any time you are caught doing something that has a high probability of ending in a serious accident, your car insurance company will take notice. ... If you submit a fraudulent claim, usually with the intent of getting money from your insurance company, then that is a major violation as well.
Which type of insurance coverage is not required by Virginia law but must be offered by the insurance company?
Car Insurance Requirements in Virginia
In Virginia, you are not required to carry liability insurance on your vehicle if you pay a $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle fee to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. Once you pay the fee, you are legally permitted to drive a vehicle in the state without car insurance.
Does Virginia require full coverage insurance?
Virginia drivers are required to purchase a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage for all registered vehicles. You can legally drive without insurance in Virginia, but you have to pay an uninsured motor vehicle fee to avoid a penalty.
Does Virginia require uninsured motorist insurance?
Virginia is one of a handful of states that do not require motorists to have insurance. To drive in Virginia, you can either prove that you have car insurance liability coverage, or you can pay $500 at the DMV which essentially takes the place of insurance coverage without providing any of the benefits.
What states do you not need car insurance?
There are only two states where car insurance is not mandatory for all drivers: Virginia and New Hampshire. In Virginia, an uninsured motor vehicle fee may be paid to the state, while in New Hampshire, vehicle owners have the option to post cash bonds.
What does drive away insurance mean?
Drive away insurance means you don't have to sort out your annual insurance policy before taking your new car home. It's a temporary insurance option that enables you to pick up your new car easily and with confidence.
What is parked car insurance?
Parked car insurance is provided to a car stored at your home or storage facility by comprehensive coverage. Your car should not be at risk of being hit by another car while parked in your garage. So comprehensive will cover all possible risk factors, such as: Stolen car.
What happens if the person at fault in an accident has no insurance in Virginia?
Virginia law states that the uninsured motorist remains personally liable if he or she causes an accident. In other words, uninsured motorists are expected to pay for personal injuries and property damage they cause in a car accident. That is fine in theory.
What is the difference between uninsured motorist and collision?
collision coverage. Uninsured motorist property damage pays for damage to your car after an accident with an uninsured driver; collision coverage pays for damage to your car when it's in an accident no matter who is at fault.