Which insurance designation should I get first?

Asked by: Elmore Beahan  |  Last update: February 11, 2022
Score: 5/5 (39 votes)

The Top 5 Insurance Designations
  • 1) Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter (CPCU®) ...
  • 2) Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC) ...
  • 3) Certified Risk Manager (CRM) ...
  • 4) Associate in Risk Management (ARM™) ...
  • 5) Associate in General Insurance (AINS™) ...
  • Bonus: Associate in Personal Insurance (API™)

Which is better CPCU or arm?

The ARM path is more focused on risk management & risk assessment skills, so it is a fairly specialized designation. On the other hand, the CPCU program covers a wider range of topics, so it's designed to provide you with a more all-encompassing set of knowledge.

Is AINS a good designation?

“Earning the AINS designation is a great way to set yourself apart, and it shows your employer that you are driven to develop the knowledge needed to add value to your organization. Successfully completing the designation will create a firm foundation on which you can build a successful career.”

Is CIC designation worth?

CIC (Certified Insurance Counselor)

Definitely worth the investment in time and money. Approved for state continuing education credit across the nation, the five CIC institutes are: Personal Lines. Commercial Casualty.

What is the INS designation for insurance?

Simply put, an insurance designation shows the completion of advanced education in a specific area. A designation requires an individual to complete specific insurance courses and certification exams. Fortunately, there is an abundance of options when it comes to obtaining a professional designation.

INSURANCE you NEED when buying your first home | First time buyers advice UK 2021 | *Part 1*

21 related questions found

What is AAI designation?

What Is an Accredited Advisor in Insurance (AAI) An Accredited Advisor in Insurance (AAI) is a credential earned by insurance professionals after a course of study and a series of examinations.

Is the CPCU designation respected?

The CPCU® designation is highly respected in the insurance world and can help anyone in the property casualty field gain the necessary skills and experience to reach that next level of employment while at the same time helping to build a more knowledgeable insurance industry.

Is CIC hard?

The CIC is a tough designation and it doesn't have any minimum professional or educational requirements. You can start the CIC whenever you want, but The Alliance suggests waiting until you've spent two or three years working in insurance.

Is the AINS designation hard?

According to nationally published AINS® pass rates, the AINS™ 21 is the second hardest AINS™ exam. As of this past testing window, the pass rate of the AINS™ 21 is 75%. This means, out of everyone that attempts the AINS™ 21 exam, only 75% pass.

What does CPCU mean in insurance?

Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter (CPCU) is a professional credential earned by individuals who specialize in risk management and property-casualty insurance. The CPCU credential is most likely to be earned by insurance agents and brokers, insurance claims representatives, risk managers, and underwriters.

How do I get an AAI designation?

So, to earn this, all insurance producers need to take three modules, complete their respective exams, and take an online Ethics course. The AAI program was a collaborative effort between the Insurance Institute of America and the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America.

How long does it take to complete the AIC designation?

To obtain the AIC, candidates must complete a rigorous examination administered by the Insurance Institute of America (IIA). The program itself consists of a series of 13-week courses with four national exams; it is commonly undertaken by experienced adjusters, claims supervisors, and examiners.

What can I do with an ARM designation?

Associate in risk management (ARM) is a designation awarded to risk management professionals who have successfully completed the ARM program. The associate in risk management program focuses on risk assessment, control, and financing. The ARM designation qualifies a person to work as an associate risk manager.

How long does it take to get a ARM designation?

The ARM™ exams are TOUGH. It is no easy task to complete this insurance designation, which is why only the best of the best earn their ARM™. The industry recommends about 2-3 months of studying per exam and about 1 – 1.5 years to complete the coursework and earn the ARM™ designation.

Should I get an ARM designation?

We recommend ARM for: Agents/brokers, agency principals, line of business managers and executives, risk managers, and operational risk staff for banks and insurers.

How do you pass the AINS?

Tips for passing your AINS 101 exam
  1. 1) Know your definitions. ...
  2. 2) Don't waste too much time on long questions. ...
  3. 3) Put an answer for every question. ...
  4. 4) Do as many practice test questions as possible. ...
  5. 5) Don't rely solely on The Institutes' study materials. ...
  6. 6) Join The Institutes' Chat Facebook group.

How long is AINS 23?

AINS™ 23 Passing Score (answer 60 correctly)

Since the AINS™ 23 exam is 85 questions long, this means you must answer 60 questions correctly (you can get 25 wrong) to earn a passing grade on the AINS™ 23.

How many AINS exams are there?

To earn the AINS insurance designation, you need to pass three course examinations: AINS 21: Deals with property and liability insurance. AINS 22: Which covers personal insurance issues. AINS 23: Which covers commercial insurance.

How long is the CIC course?

Each course consists of 16 hours of classroom instruction. All CIC courses are taught by active insurance practitioners with expertise in the field. Courses are taught with the latest industry information including forms and policies used by insurance professionals every day.

What is AAPC CIC certification?

The inpatient medical coding credential, Certified Inpatient Coder (CIC), is the only certification exclusively specialized in hospital and facility inpatient coding. ... Passing the CIC exam qualifies you to work in the rapidly changing medical coding and billing environment of hospital inpatient facilities.

How long is CIC designation?

CIC is earned by attending classroom and/or online courses. To earn the CIC designation, you must pass the examinations for five of the seven 16-hour courses that are offered. After passing your first exam, you have five years to earn the designation.

Is the CPCU exam hard?

According to nationally published CPCU® pass rates, the CPCU® 540 is the hardest CPCU® exam. The pass rate is typically around 72%. ... The reason this exam is so tough is because the questions are heavily math intensive. There are A LOT of formulas to know for the CPCU® 540 exam.

Does CPCU expire?

No, designations do not expire. Once earned, you can use your credentials indefinitely.